Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Iceni Magazine | August 14, 2022

Scroll to top


3 Norwich stars named in EFL Championship team of the year

3 Norwich stars named in EFL Championship team of the year

It’s been a memorable campaign so far as the Canaries are on the verge of promotion back to the promise land of the Premier League and there’s been further good news for the Norfolk club with three of the team’s stars named in the EFL Championship team of the year.

Canaries hit- man Teemu Pukki, after recently collecting the Player of the Year award, was named in the XI alongside team-mates Max Aarons and Jamal Lewis, chosen by fellow players.

Since joining on a free transfer from Brondby last summer, Canaries striker Pukki has scored 28 goals for the Carrow road side and he will be looking forward to imminent title-party celebrations as the Canaries can be backed with free bet no deposit bonus offers to claim the Championship crown over the next week.

Norwich need just a point at home to Blackburn on Saturday to secure promotion, regardless if they don’t manage to win the title, and not many neutrals could deny them that success having occupied the automatic places for a large part of the season.

The team of the year also features 3 players from Leeds United, who have had an excellent campaign under the stewardship of Marcelo Bielsa; these include the white’s centre-back duo of Pontus Jansson and Liam Cooper who were named in the team along with Pablo Hernandez.

3 Norwich stars named in EFL Championship team of the year

2 from Chris Wilder’s automatic promotion-chasing Blades and Tammy Abraham and Jack Grealish of Aston Villa, who have shot up the Championship table and right into promotion content via the play-offs after a 10-game winning streak, also feature in the line-up.

The team is also made up of Middlesbrough goalkeeper Darren Randolph who has helped his side secure the joint best defensive record in the Championship but there was also some controversy when Birmingham City striker Che Adams, shortlist for player of the season, was left out.

Here is the EFL Championship team of the year in full:

Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Max Aarons (Norwich), Liam Cooper (Leeds), Pontus Jansson (Leeds), Jamal Lewis (Norwich), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Oliver Norwood (Sheffield United), Pablo Hernandez (Leeds), Billy Sharp (Sheffield United), Tammy Abraham (Aston Villa), Teemu Pukki (Norwich)

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On InstagramCheck Our FeedVisit Us On Pinterest